Canbriam’s Board of Directors is made up of three independent members as well as representatives from our private equity owners, and Canbriam’s CEO.

(Click one of the names below for more details)

Tim Holt (Chair of the Board) – Independent

Tim is a founding partner and managing director of Edgewater Energy Partners. Tim is a Director on the Board of Edgemarc Energy LLC, and a Director on the Board of EF Energy LLC. Tim has 32 years with Texaco and BP in various engineering, operations and leadership positions. Tim holds an engineering degree from the University of California Berkeley. Tim is also on the board of the Friends of the Nature Conservancy of Canada.

Paul Myers – President & CEO, Canbriam Energy Inc.

Paul is Canbriam`s President and Chief Executive Officer and is also a member of the board of directors. He is a 26 year veteran of the oil and gas industry with experience in North America, Europe, and West Africa. Paul`s primary focus has been in the Gulf of Mexico and the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin. Prior to the formation of Canbriam, Paul was President and CEO of Esprit Energy Trust where he was instrumental in an operational turn-around and divestiture to Pengrowth Energy Trust in October 2006. Prior to Esprit, Paul was accountable for building a Gulf of Mexico deepwater position for PanCanadian (EnCana). Before moving to Calgary in 2000, Paul was VP Exploration for Statoil Exploration US in Houston TX. Paul also spent 10 years in various roles with Amoco Production Company in New Orleans, LA and Houston, TX. Paul holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Geophysics from Lehigh University, a Master of Science Degree in Geology (Geophysics emphasis) from the University of Kansas, and a Master of Business Administration Degree from the University of Calgary.

Andrea Decore – Suncor Energy

Andrea Decore is currently VP Commercial in Suncor Energy’s Strategy and Corporate Development group. In this role she is responsible for mergers, acquisitions, divestitures, and strategic commercial opportunities. Previously, she held senior management roles at Suncor in Supply Chain Category Management, Oil Sands Business Development, Economics and Valuations and Supply and Trading. Andrea holds a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) from the University of Calgary.

Jolienne Guillemaud – Suncor Energy

Jolienne Guillemaud is VP and Treasurer at Suncor Energy with over 20 years of Finance experience. Previously, she held management roles in Suncor’s Finance group including VP & Controller and Assistant Controller of both Oil Sands and External Reporting. Prior to joining Suncor, she also held senior finance roles at Encana and PwC. Jolienne holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Calgary and is a Chartered Accountant, CPA.

Peter R Kagan – Warburg Pincus

Peter is based in New York and joined Warburg Pincus in 1997 and leads the firm’s energy group. Peter is also a member of the firm’s executive management group. Prior to joining Warburg Pincus, he worked in investment banking at Salomon Brothers in New York and Hong Kong. Peter is a director of AAG Energy Limited, Antero Resources Corporation, Brigham Resources, LLC, Delonex Energy Limited, Fairfield Energy Limited, Hawkwood Energy LLC, Laredo Petroleum Holdings, MEG Energy Corp., Targa Resources and Venari Resources LLC. In addition he is a director of Resources for the Future and a trustee of Milton Academy. Peter received a B.A. cum laude from Harvard College and J.D. and M.B.A. degrees with honors from the University of Chicago.

Jacob Y. Strauss – Warburg Pincus

Jacob Y. Strauss joined Warburg Pincus in 2010 and is based in New York. He joined the firm’s energy group in 2013. Previously, he worked in the firm’s healthcare group. Prior to joining Warburg Pincus, he was in the consumer products and retail investment banking group at Citigroup in New York. He is a Director of Canbriam Energy, Independence Resources Management, RimRock Oil & Gas, RS Energy Group and Velvet Energy. Mr. Strauss received a B.A. magna cum laude, in economics from Princeton University.

Zvi Orvitz – Teachers’ Private Capital

Zvi joined the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan in 2008 and is currently a Portfolio Manager in the Energy Group at Teachers’ Private Capital. Prior to joining Teachers’, Zvi worked in investment banking at a global investment bank in New York and Toronto. During his career he has focused on direct investing, M&A advisory and corporate finance in the energy and power sectors. He currently serves on the Boards of BluEarth Renewables Inc., Kanata Energy Group Ltd. and Aspenleaf Energy Ltd. Zvi holds an Honours Business Administration degree from the Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario and is a CFA Charterholder.

Robert Hodgins – Independent

Robert has been an independent businessman since November 2004. Prior to that, he served as the Chief Financial Officer of Pengrowth Energy Trust (a TSX and NYSE-listed energy trust) from 2002 to 2004. Previous to that, Robert was Vice President and Treasurer of Canadian Pacific Limited from 1998 to 2002 and Chief Financial Officer of TransCanada PipeLines Limited from 1993 to 1998. Robert received an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Business from the Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario in 1975 and received a Chartered Accountant designation and was admitted as a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario in 1977 and Alberta in 1991. He currently serves on the board of a number of public and private companies including Enerplus Corp., MEG Energy and Altagas Ltd.


Norton Rose Fulbright – Legal Counsel
McDaniel & Associates Consultants – Engineering
PriceWaterhouseCoopers – Auditors